Track 11: Goodbye Party

(This post is about the 11th track and namesake of the album Goodbye Party. Click here to stream or download it free.)

 

 

So I know I’ve got skills… but that ain’t never meant that I’m allowed to live in the peace I want, but I’ve got so much to give… and I’ve got so much to sit down about just to take in.

But right at this second, I’m swearing to everyone; you’ll only see me standing ever again.

Never again will I bend to the wind, blend in, or hurt a friend.

And no, I ain’t lying, ’cause it aint a resolution.

This new year I found out about how it’s from within you’ve got to summon the kind of universe that you want to live in.

Given only what’s in my brain, I make a difference on the inside first and everything around me shifts, and then I see the vision ’cause it’s right where I’m sitting.

So lend me a minute and I’ll leave you with the feeling.

I’m here to fill cups with reasons to breathe in and breathe out, ’cause I see now that I real smile only makes it to your lips when you let it creep out; like “the end!

And if I rewound it to play it back again, I’d never choose less pain.

The change I spend, it makes dollars.

And looking at what’s now in my savings, I’m ready to look back at every outdated Zac and wave goodbye at them.

So wave goodbye, even if you ain’t leaving, because I want to see you smile.

Let’s make today for you and me like it’s goodbye tomorrow.

So, think of somebody you love but haven’t been able to hug in a while.

I was wondering, what if I got to go back and take everyone I said goodbye to – right at the moment I’d rather decided never to let them away from my side – and live in the feeling of that appreciation, but the whole time!

Like – goodbye’s right behind the next slide anyway (at least potentially), so when we’re flipping through them every day… savor every mental photographic memory (while the taste is still present) ’cause you know that everything fades.

“So it must be time for me to go. Yes, I said I’m leaving here tomorrow. So tonight, let’s celebrate! (But don’t hold me to that promise though.)

I remember, when becoming close friends with my mentor, that when speaking with eachother, we would wonder what would have happened if we’d come across eachother before life had grown limits?

Honestly, without life’s restrictions, I wouldn’t be rapping.

Yeah, and I remember learning how in love I’d fallen, when I thought I lost it all and then saw that the call I’d gotten was an opportunity to learn what real love is.

When I’d never really of loved her if she’d have let me be nothing like I was then.

But then I built and something sprung out of the garden, so I grabbed hold, climbed, and rode the vine to find some city in the clouds (where everybody’s Goodbye Partying all the time – even without leaving).

So wave goodbye, even if you ain’t leaving, because I want to see you smile.

Let’s make today for you and me like it’s goodbye tomorrow.

Yeah, wave goodbye, even if you ain’t leaving, because I want to see you smile.

Let’s make today for you and me like it’s goodbye tomorrow.

;-P

Leave a Reply

