Track 4: Thank You Letter

(This post is about track 4 from the album Goodbye Party, titled “Thank You Letter”. The song has a few dirty words in it. Click here to stream or download the clean version.)

If you’ve already listened through this song, I’m sure you can imagine that this is another one that feels really strange to be releasing this much later in life. Three years can make for some very significant shifts in mindset.

First of all, I want to note that my lyrics in this track kick off with homage to the artist who most inspired me as a rap-infatuated youngster coming up in the Twin Cities. The wise man that once said “it ain’t all good, but it’s all good enough-“ was the same inspiration I briefly mentioned in my notes for “Take Two”, a fellow known to indie rap fans as Eyedea.

One of the most important teachings contained in yoga and mindfulness happens to be essentially the same message that Eyedea’s track “Smile” is built around. This is a sentiment that I teach about a lot in workshops and yoga classes, and it’s definitely what I hope can be gleaned from this track.

The idea is that life is not easy; the human experience is inherently painful, but that doesn’t mean you need to let it make you suffer deeply. There is potential for such massive growth in those difficulties. I said it last week, and I’m sure I’ll say it again soon, because this whole album (if not my entire catalogue) revolves around the concept

Compost it.

Take that shit and fertilize something with it.

Every situation you encounter in life has two sides to it. There’s a dark side, and a light side. You can let that perceived failure get you down; deflate your drive; pull the plug on your motivation completely… or you can take it as the perfect highlight for how you can most beneficially grow. You can take it as a challenge; an inspiration; an opportunity.

Yeah though… life really does hurt sometimes. You know I know it… I honestly don’t always handle it so well. Believe me, this isn’t the only song that came out of this particular heartbreak. In all honestly though, I look at what that pain made me into and I couldn’t be happier about it. I hear myself tell friends, family, and strangers that my life is fantastic almost every day now, because I’ve never felt I was thriving as much as I am lately. I couldn’t be more grateful to the struggles that shaped my life into what it is now.

Life is good… as long as you’re willing to give it permission to be. I swear, it’s ready and waiting.


Click here to return to Goodbye Party’s table of contents

2 thoughts on “Track 4: Thank You Letter

  1. Pingback: New Forefeather Album; Life Lessons, Bittersweet Reminiscences and All… | One Feather Forward

  2. Pingback: Track 11: Goodbye Party | One Feather Forward

Leave a Reply

